Getting through a Monday – in one piece :/

“The steadfast love of the Lord never ceases; his mercies never come to an end; they are new every morning.” Lamentations 3:22

Good morning! You are at the right time in the right place. It is a Monday morning around 8 AM and I just arrived at work.

My morning started about 3 hours earlier, when I jumped out of bed at the first sound of the alarm to face the new week. I cheerfully entered the kitchen after spending some time reading the bible and prayer and proceeded to make yummy and healthy breakfast and lunch, with lots of veggies.

I then woke up my husband and kids with a hug and a kiss wishing them a Good Morning! At 7:30 we are all ready at the door; uniform shirts tucked, and lunch bags in hand.

This is what I wish had happened.

What really happened is this.

I woke up about 2 hours earlier, after snoozing the alarm several times. I panicked looking at the time, had a mental conflict on whether I had time for the bible and prayer, or if God would forgive me if I skipped it just this day. I settled on a quick prayer. I then rushed to the kitchen and searched for vegetables in the fridge and find- that they have disappeared. (I did not have time to wonder if I had forgotten the week before to buy any or if I had used them up.) As the clock ticks away, my anxiety levels increase. I settle for instant Maggie noodles for lunch and heat up leftover food for breakfast.

A frenzied mother enters the bedroom, forgets all about the morning kiss. “Why aren’t you all up yet”, she yells, “I have to do this every day, can’t you wake up on time?” At 7:45 AM we stand at the door, while one goes back to take the forgotten lunch bag and the other has to go to the toilet again.

I reach the office 10 minutes late and breathe.

And write a blog  😉

And I sincerely and honestly look forwards to the day.

I am an Occupational therapist working with children and I have varied days.

Today I will be seeing a 3 month old baby with a lovely smile, who will eventually be fine.

I will be seeing Baby Y, who has cerebral palsy and is at the moment trying to learn how to sit by himself and to hold a small rattle in his hand.

I will also have Baby X drop in whose mother is struggling in an abusive relationship, so I suspect that the session will be more about her than her child.

I have a group session planned with mothers in the afternoon who are so delightful to listen to, not because of their stories, for all of their stories are filled with pain and suffering, but because of how the spirit within them could overcome it all, and how they stand in spite of it all.

Some days can be real hard though! That is regardless of how much you like your Job.

Some days you rather rest in bed.

You rather not face that nasty colleague.

You rather not talk to that negative mother.

Some days you rather quit.

These are some of the things that help get through those days:

  1. I remind myself of my purpose.

I know that God has placed me where he has for a purpose, though I am rarely sure of the specifics, I know that his hand is at work. I am in this for him!

  1. I know my responsibilities.

I know, or have come to accept that there are things which need to be done by me- as a wife, a mother, a colleague, a therapist or a tutor. These things just need to be done, how I do it is up to me. Whether I choose to do it grudgingly or joyfully is completely up to me.

  1. I have a work I love.

I know I’m lucky and I know that not all work is enjoyable. If you are not in the work you love, try to find something you like to do and look forward to at least a few times in a week. Doing what you like to do, gets you through some bad days.

  1. I have a family to come back home to.

Yes, I have a messy house and naughty children who excited jump up and down when we get back, ready with the latest stories from school. It is never ideal, but it is a blessing and I am very thankful for that.

  1. I know bad things won’t last forever.

I still remember the first time I was heartbroken, I thought I would never recover from it, but I did. My friend says “Life is like a computer game, once you pass one level, the next one gets more difficult.” Through all the levels I have crossed so far, there have been varying levels of difficulties, but none has lasted forever, even though some seemed to.

  1. I have a goal in life.

Well, I stopped goal setting a while ago, but I decided that this one would stay, that if I died tomorrow, there would be nothing that I would regret about today.

I hope that you all have a great week ahead! God bless you all.

 

There are some resources I found really useful on this blog (http://makeoveryourmornings.com) , especially on how to plan your mornings better and get a good head start!

This entry was posted in Christianity, dreams, love, Uncategorized, work and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

