Did you become what you thought you would be?

He said, “You become. It takes a long time. That’s why it doesn’t happen often to people who break easily, or have sharp edges, or who have to be carefully kept. Generally, by the time you are Real, most of your hair has been loved off, and your eyes drop out and you get lose in the joints and very shabby. But these things don’t matter at all, because once you are Real you can’t be ugly, except to people who don’t understand.”                                                                                         The Velveteen Rabbit.

 

I did not become what I thought I would become.

No, I didn’t.

I did not become rich and have never been on a shopping spree by my definition.

I have not finished my PhD, nor attempted starting one.

I did not become a famous musician or singer.

I have not become the carefree mother of many children.

I did not become a well known writer and have not started on a book.

I did not become the beautiful swan and never will be.

I did not live happily ever after.

 

I did however become a few things I never thought I would become.

 

I became a friend to someone who needed a friend.

I became a mother of two unplanned and closely spaced children and enjoy it.

I became a pillar to someone who had lost his way in life.

I stayed on a job, because I liked it, even it wasn’t financially the best.

I became more patient, because life doesn’t happen by timetable.

I became forgiving, because I make mistakes too.

I learned to take one day at a time, because it may be the last one.

I learned to give in to arguments, because the relationship was more important.

I learned to be kind, because everyone is in need of it.

I learned to breathe, live and give.

I am glad I didn’t become all the things I thought I would become- who knows what I would have missed on the way….

“Before I made you in your mother’s womb, I chose you. Before you were born, I set you apart for a special work.” Jeremiah 1:5

 

 

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Christianity, dreams, life style, love, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Did you become what you thought you would be?

  1. Reblogged this on Yonason Goldson and commented:
    Guest post today by ReachingTheSun.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

