To make the world better.

“I was hungry and you formed a humanities club to discuss my hunger.

Thank you.

I was imprisoned and you crept off quietly to your chapel to pray for my release.

Nice.

I was naked and in your mind you debated the morality of my appearance.

What good did that do?

I was sick and you knelt and thanked God for your health.

But I needed you.

I was homeless and you preached to me of the shelter of the love of God.

I wish you’d taken me home.

I was lonely and you left me alone to pray for me.

Why didn’t you stay?

You seem so holy, so close to God; but I’m still very hungry, lonely, cold, and still in pain.

Does it matter?”

Author unknown

 

But the subject written about is known,-  it is me, so often ME.

I walked past him who was lonely…. because he was such bad company.

I walked past her who was in pain…. because I didn’t have the emotional energy to deal with the tears.

I avoided the one with the sickness… because all that the person talked about was the sickness and that got tiresome.

I slicked away from the one who was homeless… because I didn’t have the resources and because it was not my problem.

I sped past the one imprisoned by walls of the past….. because I was scared of getting entrapped in it myself.

I walked past the funeral home… because the time was wrong, and I would drop in later when the situation was better.

I did not go to the orphanage to visit the children… there were so many people going there anyway.

I did not make it to the prison gates…. that’s creepy, besides no one would come with me.

I did not make it to the old age home…. they have enough help already.

All I do is pray, halfheartedly, without much understanding, from standard scripts of the order of service.

Shame on me.

Dear Lord, I am ashamed of the way that I am living my life. I am truly sorry. I want to do something for you. Open my eyes so that I can see and respond to the needs of the people around me. Help me not to walk away from anyone because of my pride or preoccupation with worldly things. Open doors for me to act the way you did and do the things you did, feed the hungry, heal the lame and cry with those who hurt. Help me not to judge others by their deeds or appearance. Each one of your sheep matter to you. And I know that you will go with me…. wherever you lead me. Amen

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Christianity, life style, love, pain, poverty, self image, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

