A difficult year….

“And now in age I bud again;

After so many deaths I live and write;

I once more smell the dew and rain,

And relish versing.

O my only light,

It cannot be

That I am she

On whom Thy tempests fall all night. “

George Herbert

 

 

In another 2 days ends the most difficult year of my life.

I thought the previous year had that title, but was overtaken.

I have experienced the depth of emotional suffering, the intensity of physical pain,

And yet I lived.

I faced betrayal by people I loved unselfishly, and almost lost my family,

And yet I am not bitter.

I have at emotional breaking points so many times; I never thought I would make it,

And yet I am sane.

I have been pushed to my physical and psychological limits,

And yet I am whole.

There were many times I just wanted to give up, run away, or die,

And yet I stand.

Thinking about it, this has been the best year of my life.

I have overcome suffering and defeated pain,

Because someone comforted me.

I learned I that I could stand alone unwaveringly,

Because someone set me on a high rock.

I have been broken, but am still whole,

Because someone picked me up.

I learned that I was strong,

Because someone stronger held me.

Through it all, I learned.

And now I am not afraid to what is before me.

I know that in the coming year relationships may break, there may be pain, there may be suffering, treasured possessions may be lost.

But what I have something no one can take from me.

And that will be enough.

We are pressed on all sides, but not crushed; perplexed, but not in despair; 9persecuted, but not forsaken; struck down, but not destroyed.  2 Corninthian 4:8-9

 

 

Photo credit: blossomingseoul.blogspot.in

This entry was posted in Christianity, classics, dreams, friendship, love, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A difficult year….

  1. “Thinking about it, this has been the best year of my life. I have overcome suffering and defeated pain, Because someone comforted me.” Thanks for your beautiful words…

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

