Dear Jane Eyre,

“Do you think, because I am poor, obscure, plain and little, I am soulless and heartless? You think wrong! – I have as much soul as you, – and full as much heart! And if God had gifted me with some beauty and much wealth, I should have made it as hard for you to leave me, as it is now for me to leave you! I am not talking to you now through the medium of custom, conventionalities, nor even of mortal flesh: it is my spirit that addresses your spirit; just as if both had passed through the grave, and we stood at God’s feet, equal — as we are!” Charlotte Brontë, Jane Eyre

 

Dear Jane!

 

I know you are fictional, but you are alive through the pages of a book.

I admire your courage to speak out words, even when you knew you were at a disadvantage.

You spoke of things which are kept hidden, but are true in every relationship. These are words not mentioned or ignored in the flowery language of love, when feelings dominate thoughts and intellect.

Position. Status. Beauty. Intellect. Qualifications. Education.

Therefore I also admire your ability to look beyond feelings and state your case unambiguously. That must have taken a lot of guts to tell a man, who you thought was going to marry someone else that you were in love with him!

You must have had a strong sense of self worth, and self esteem, to be able to say that even if the world considered you “poor, obscure, plain and little”, you knew that you were equal to someone considered superior, before God. Something worth mentioning since you were an orphan girl and many of us think that our self worth depends on how we were brought up.

I love the way you expressed your love a few pages later:

“I have for the first time found what I can truly love–I have found you. You are my sympathy–my better self–my good angel–I am bound to you with a strong attachment. I think you good, gifted, lovely: a fervent, a solemn passion is conceived in my heart; it leans to you, draws you to my centre and spring of life, wrap my existence about you–and, kindling in pure, powerful flame, fuses you and me in one.”

Sometimes I wonder what you saw in him though. But yes, I know love is blind (and deluded?)

I also admire the decision you made later, to leave your love, Mr. Rochester, even though you knew it would cause you both a lot of pain, just because of your conviction of what is right, which the world again, would probably disagree with.

Your story ends with the tear provoking happy ending. You are back with your love, you share a life and children, you suddenly get money, you are happy. I wondered, “What if there wasn’t a happy ending?” as it so often happens in real life.

What if Mr Rochester had died in the fire? With the one you loved dead, and the one who wanted to marry you gone to India, you would be not just “obscure, plain and little”, but also lonely, heartbroken, single, and without a job. Would you still praise God?

Sometimes I wish I was like you, fictional and alive through the pages of a book, just so I could peek at the last page.

Would it be a happy ending?

Would there be an unexpected twist at the end?

A sad ending?

Or would this book be part of a continuation series?

 

I’m just dying to know!

 

 

Photo credit- http://www.the-toast.net

This entry was posted in classics, life style, literature, Philosophy, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

