The things I’m glad I missed…

I’m glad I missed the dead line to submit that presentation,

And chose to spend time with my family instead.

 

I’m glad I was 5 minutes late again,

Because I didn’t yell at anyone to hurry up in the morning.

 

I’m glad I missed being called hard working

Because I didn’t miss the triumph on my little one’s face as she made it thought the climbing maze by herself.

 

I’m glad I missed those two hours of sleep,

Because I could talk about the younger one’s nightmare and reassure her.

 

I’m glad I missed the late night movie,

So I could feel the soft vibrations of the little one’s snore against my chest.

 

I’m glad I missed the manicure and the pedicure,

Because finger nails are for getting dirty in clay and paint,

And feet for walking and calluses.

 

I’m glad I miss the old perfectionist in me,

Because now I learned that patience and kindness pay more dividends.

 

I’m glad I missed the striving to deserve and be good,

Because it has been replaced by unconditional love and acceptance.

 

I’m glad I miss having that romantic, hormonal, exciting feeling towards another person,

For now I know love that knows no ending,

Which is higher and deeper, reaching far beyond where I can see,

And is beyond my understanding.

 

I’m glad I missed all the things I could have become, but didn’t,

Because my maker knows the plans he has for me and they are far beyond my expectation.

 

This entry was posted in Christianity, life style, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The things I’m glad I missed…

  1. This is truly lovely. Thank you.

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

