Contact lenses to glasses

To most of you, it would be the most insignificant decision to be made, but to me it was a

really hard one…

Let me explain.

After 19 years of torturing my eyes with different kind of contact lenses, ranging from

semi soft, the initial soft ones to monthly disposables, suffering many infections, one

corneal ulcer, which almost costed the vision in one eye, a lot of pain and watery eyes,

while driving, or walking through dusty places, I finally decided to just use my glasses.

Why would this be so important to me?

A lot of my insecurities in my childhood stemmed from being not so great looking.

Imagine a shapeless child, with protruding teeth, dark skin with patches and soda

glasses…. Kind of get the idea?

I was teased, harassed, the glasses were stolen and hidden, so I could search for them

like a blind mole and was mostly on the verge of tears till a well meaning friend came to

my rescue. I would read the story of “The ugly duckling” and cry, wondering if would ever

become a beautiful swan.

When a doctor suggested that a possible way to stop my progressive myopia was wearing

contact lenses, I jumped for it.

Once I was over my teens, and importantly after 5 years of orthodontic treatment, things

looked brighter, but my self esteem had not recovered. I have to mention somewhere that

I was the ‘Ms Beautiful eyes’ in college.

My insecurity got me into wrong relationships, which obviously didn’t give me what I

needed. Rather it gave me a surge of courage, followed by a deepening despair and a dip

in the way I looked at myself after the relationship ended.

I also started to understand that people could be attracted to my looks. In the following

years, with an enhanced sense of dressing, I realized I could be an object of attention and

led to a good feeling, which couldn’t be called self esteem.

It took me 30 years of living to understand what I really needed.

What I really needed and desired deep within was to be loved unconditionally, regardless

of my looks. And it was only now that I sought the one, and found him (or should I say he

found me?:))

And it is amazing! Gone is my fear of ageing, my worries about forgotten make up or

looking less than my best. You see, he loved me at my worst, so any improvement on that

was more than perfect. So now I decided to wear glasses because:

I know I am loved no matter what I look like. 

I want to be liked and appreciated for who I am and what I do, not what I look like,

even at the work place. 
The first impression of me may not be great, but the people who matter will look again. 
I get rid of the people who hang out with me for the wrong reasons.
Lastly and importantly- My little one has astigmatism and needs to wear glasses. The last thing I would want to 
communicate to him would be that he is loved less, worth less or matters less because of 
what he looks like. I want to be able to confidently look at him through my tinted glasses 
and tell him that what he is inside matters to me much more than what he looks like, 
however cool his flashy yellow glasses are. 
This entry was posted in life style, love, Philosophy, self image, thoughts, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

