Building bridges

 

Manhatten fantasy- Lena Karpinsky

 

 

 

I remember the scene as if it were yesterday, the almost empty classroom, and at the

opposite end, leaning her elbows on the desk, hands in her face was the girl who had been

my best friend for 2 years. We had been inseparable and had no secrets from each other.

There was a sudden unexpected situation in her life which had separated us suddenly

and completely, and now for a while we had been complete strangers.

I wonder what had made me walk upto her, the stranger, not knowing or expecting what

would happen next. So many years later, I’m glad she didn’t rebuff me. She didn’t open

up to me either. We had a formal conversation, but at least we parted as individuals

who wished each other well. The intimacy never came back.

 

A few years later, it happened again, with another friend – turned – stranger. I managed

to pull myself together and ask her for a lunch date. She said no then, giving me a

ridiculed look, but later sent a message explaining herself. We eventually got back

together, but the intimacy did not. Was it the broken trust, or the unkind thoughts that

follow the break up? Is it at all possible to make up? When is it worth the effort, when

is it not? I so wish they had rules for things like these, or at least a formula!

 

Now, 15 years later, I am facing a similar situation. This time it is a colleague who is

sitting across the room, leaning back on a chair. A few months back, I would have run to

him in ecstacy, but not now. We hadn’t seen the good side of each other for a while.

What do I do? Do I take that step? It’s more complicated now. I think about the

consequences, what I would lose if I take the step, what if I don’t? Why would I want

to do it anyway? Was it worth the trouble? It was very intimidating. I remembered the

hurtful words, the looks, the feelings, the pain and the humiliation.

What do you think I did?

No, I didn’t….

In the end, it probably boils down to this-If I give more importance to relationship than to my feelings, it would be worth the effort

to mend it. It would also mean that you forgive, swallow your pride and swallow old

feelings even if they come up.

I do hope I get another chance… and if I do, I think I would take that first step,

to cross the bridge.

 

 

 

Love is when he sets his foot on the bridge than separates you, just as you swing 

the hammer to break it down……

 

This entry was posted in friendship, life style, Philosophy, thoughts, Uncategorized, work. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

